Free Web Hosting Forum
Go Back   Free Web Hosting Forum > 000WebHost Services > Customer Assistance
Reload this Page Uploading MySQL Database to 000Webhost
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
(#1)
Old
Zonette Zonette is offline
Junior Member
Zonette is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Uploading MySQL Database to 000Webhost - 09-05-2010, 06:13 PM

Hi,

I have a little problem. I just downloaded my MySQL database from BlueHost, along with all the files to switch hosts. The problem is, I can't seem to figure out a way to upload the MySQL database from the cPanal.

Can anyone assist me please?

Regards.
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
Snuupy's Avatar
Snuupy Snuupy is offline
Senior Member
Snuupy is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 374
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Under your bed! O.O
Default 09-05-2010, 06:44 PM

Go into PHPMyadmin, click IMPORT, and then upload your mySQL database.


You can visit the 000webhost IRC Channel at irc.freenode.net/#000webhost =)

BEFORE CREATING A THREAD: Insert problem here: http://google.com/

Please add karma if someone has helped you!
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
d3iti's Avatar
d3iti d3iti is offline
Super Moderator
d3iti is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 7,590
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spain
Default 09-05-2010, 06:48 PM

Hello, Zonette,

Among all the files you have, is there one that you call or name.sql.zip or name.sql.gzip or name.sql?
Do you have the file with SQL statements in order to regenerate your database?
If so, you should use from the cPanel -> phpMyAdmin


Recuerda realizar copias de seguridad de tus sitios web. Si este mensaje te ayudó puedes pulsar sobre el botón karma
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
Zonette Zonette is offline
Junior Member
Zonette is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 09-05-2010, 07:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snuupy View Post
Go into PHPMyadmin, click IMPORT, and then upload your mySQL database.
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3iti View Post
Hello, Zonette,

Among all the files you have, is there one that you call or name.sql.zip or name.sql.gzip or name.sql?
Do you have the file with SQL statements in order to regenerate your database?
If so, you should use from the cPanel -> phpMyAdmin
Aww yes, thanks guys! Sorry its just been so long since I've needed to use a host I forgot the basics

Just one thing though, I remember once, when switching hosts before that I had to go into the SQL and rename all the lines with the username in them for example: "username_databasename" had to become "newusername_databasename" or something along the lines. Do I still have to do this? If so, what program would I need to use? I think I used MWord or Frontpage last time. Not to sure now.

Regards.
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
d3iti's Avatar
d3iti d3iti is offline
Super Moderator
d3iti is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 7,590
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spain
Default 09-05-2010, 07:20 PM

Hi,
I think in the file containing the data from the database (file .sql or .sql.zip or. sql.gzip) should not change anything.
Changes in server name, database name, username and password, you have to look at the files that connect to the database.
Normally in .php files (if you're using the PHP programming language)


Recuerda realizar copias de seguridad de tus sitios web. Si este mensaje te ayudó puedes pulsar sobre el botón karma
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
Snuupy's Avatar
Snuupy Snuupy is offline
Senior Member
Snuupy is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 374
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Under your bed! O.O
Default 09-07-2010, 01:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonette View Post
Aww yes, thanks guys!
No problem.


You can visit the 000webhost IRC Channel at irc.freenode.net/#000webhost =)

BEFORE CREATING A THREAD: Insert problem here: http://google.com/

Please add karma if someone has helped you!
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
Zonette Zonette is offline
Junior Member
Zonette is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 10-01-2010, 12:58 AM

Hey,

I'm having a problem. I tried the steps above, but I can't seem to be able to import the MySQL database I downloaded from BlueHost. I get the error:

Quote:
Error

SQL query:

/*!40000 ALTER TABLE `e107_forum_t` DISABLE KEYS */;

MySQL said: Documentation
#2006 - MySQL server has gone away
Any ideas? I really need the site up and running! Please help! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
Bad Karma[CORE]'s Avatar
Bad Karma[CORE] Bad Karma[CORE] is offline
333 - only half evil
Bad Karma[CORE] is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 6,915
Join Date: May 2008
Default 10-01-2010, 05:09 AM

was the mysql dum done with complete/extended inserts on?


Get in touch with me

Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
Zonette Zonette is offline
Junior Member
Zonette is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 10-01-2010, 12:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Karma[CORE] View Post
was the mysql dum done with complete/extended inserts on?
Hi, I don't understand... I went to BlueHost cPanal > Backup and it made a full backup of all the files and databases and gave me a DL link to DL all the files in a Tz file. In this file was the databases... And thats all I know... I hope this was not the wrong way of backing up MySQL's!
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
Bad Karma[CORE]'s Avatar
Bad Karma[CORE] Bad Karma[CORE] is offline
333 - only half evil
Bad Karma[CORE] is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 6,915
Join Date: May 2008
Default 10-01-2010, 01:08 PM

it might well be the wrong way. From what you wrote i am almost certain Complete/Extended inserts were used to create the backup. Nothing wrong with that as long as the MySQL server has a big enough timeout for the queries to complete. Now looking at your error message it seems like the the timeout isn´t big enough for the query to complete, the connection times out and you receive the error message "MySQL server has gone away".

There are a few ways to get the database imported, but which ones might work depends on the database. You can try to manually import the database in chunks or try a tool like Bigdump, worst case would be that you have to manually turn the extended queries into single queries that then will import fine.

How big is the database btw?


Get in touch with me

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com