General Information

was founded in 2005 and is now 12 years in business.

heliohost.org has tiny, flash based website which is hard to read and understand. While heliohost.org team says they offer free hosting for everyone, it's not 100% true.

You need to pay for heliohost.org hosting services using "helions" For example, the smallest package with 150 MB space and 1500 MB bandwidth costs 250 hellions per month. So what are these mystic hellions? Hellions are forum posts. If you think "oh, just another provider that requires to make posts on forums" you are absolutely right. They have some restrictions too. For example, if you will use bad grammar while posting, account will be deleted. Not very funny...

heliohost.org also offers packages with banner ads, but your website will be full of their advertisements, and it's not the best option too. So everything is up to you. If you have lots of time to spend on heliohost.org forums just to keep hosting account active, go and signup with this provider. Otherwise, search our directory for another free hosting - you will find plenty of them!

Contact Information

webmaster@heliohost.org

Reviews 2017

Each review passes our filtering system, so you can be sure that all reviews are honest and real (all spam, duplicate and self reviews are filtered out).

Review of heliohost.org by Dim on 2012/07/31 at 12:44
Just leaving from HelioHost. my site was loading little slow. and every day it was down for at least an hour. I was at xtreemhost for 2 years and i didn't had this kind of problems. (except the last month. that a message about high traffic was on my screen every day) also ftp connection always fail after 1-2 min on heliohost.. and it is very difficlt to take backup of the content. didn't had that problem ever before in my life!

i have in my mailbox hundrents of messages like this:
----------------------
RECOVERY ALERT
Your website is no longer on error
URL: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Time: 2012-07-31 07:32:29 -0500
Time on Error: 23 minutes 17 seconds
----------------------

i hope now that i'm moving to 000webhost i will not have such a problem.
Review of heliohost.org by veer on 2012/06/10 at 09:07
Truly the best. GUYS ITS FREE AND YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU ARE GETTING< EVEN PAID HOSTS DONT PROVIDE SUCH FEATURES.
Review of heliohost.org by indignat.socioblog.com on 2012/05/16 at 19:20
Also, they don't require activity in the forum anymore, just signing into cPanel once a month to keep your account active, and their website is no longer Flash-based.
Review of heliohost.org by indignat.socioblog.com on 2012/05/16 at 19:11
My review is a mixed opinion, but considering it's all for free and you can't find it in most paid offers, can't complain.

Scripting: PHP 5.3.1, CGI, SSI, Perl, Python 2.7.1, Django, FrontPage 5, ASP.NET 3.5, Java Servlet 2.4/JSP 2, Ruby [on Rails]

Limits: unlimited file size / traffic bandwidth / email accounts / domains / databases (MySQL and PostGreSQL) and db users / FTP accounts, but only one cron job allowed per 5 minutes, 500 MB storage space, 30 sec script execution timeout.

E-mail features: MX, SMTP, POP3(S), IMAP(S), forwarding

Other: custom index, custom 404 error pages, .htaccess allowed,

PHP Libraries: cURL, GD2, ImageMagick, PDO, Sockets, Zend Optimizer, IonCube and SourceGuardian loaders

PHP options: mail() allowed, Safe Mode disabled, but php.ini and exec functions disabled

Support: 5 voluntaries from around the globe, so they reply to forum threads in minutes at any time.

Account Activation: there's a limited account registrations per day, so half of the day registrations will be blocked. Also, getting your website live or changing domains may take days, but support usually helps.

Speed is normal, similar to the most popular free hosts. Up-time is like Munchi said, expect problems every month or two.
Review of heliohost.org by Shadow on 2012/04/03 at 01:36
Uptime claims to be 99%, but its about 75% but still THE BEST HOST OUT THERE!!!!

Fast transfer speeds, and tons of preloaded stuff. And they offer one click installation for many apps!
Review of heliohost.org by bob on 2012/03/09 at 18:58
After uploading my web site, Heliohost blocked it and will not let me access my account or files. There forum will not register me as a user. When it did work then things were often down on the server.
Review of heliohost.org by Umakant on 2012/02/16 at 13:26
Heliohost is the best FREE web host that provides all the features of web hosting available from any hind end paid host. You have everything that you wish to have. It's like as if you are working on your own server.

Yes, there was high downtime during last few months but that was an exceptional situation for maintenance. It was not intentional (because the main heliohost.org site was also down for some time). Let's be frank that you should not expect 99.99% uptime from a free server while the paid servers are even not able to provide such high uptime.
Review of heliohost.org by djbob on 2012/02/10 at 03:40
Part of the server has been down for many days, they have no ideas what they are doing. Always waiting for one guy to fix everything, who doesn't really care. Joke/10

One of the worst hosts around, avoid at all costs.
Review of heliohost.org by Bob on 2012/02/07 at 13:25
Heliohost down for over 2 days now and now sign of it coming back - Servers are OUT OF DISK SPACE!!!!!
Review of heliohost.org by veightar on 2012/01/23 at 19:36
I decided to join heliohost but the reviews that some of those here are giving seems terrible enough to scare anybody else.

Now let me clear the air. When it comes to website features, heliohost is probably the best free web host, only that they've disabled awstat (reason that it consume more system resource.

For the uptime, those who are giving heliohost below 90% has no idea what they are saying. Visit http://www.webhostingstuff.com/uptime/Heliohost.html
and see for yourself. They most of the time have 100% uptime. Their worst uptime is that of this month where they have to do some upgrades.

To me, the uptime is pretty good for free web host and i'm certain they will make a good host for my website.

Please stop making blind review, the average uptime stats for heliohost.org from oct 2010 to jan 2012 is 98.1%. not too bad

Write your review about

Please share & Like this page! This will motivate us to develop more & better free features!

Hosted websites for 15,994,469 users all over the world!

  • php
  • my sql
  • intel
  • cloudlinux
  • nginx
  • cloudflare
  • wordpress