Powered by Hostinger cloud

HostGator Reviews 2018

Each review passes our filtering system, so you can be sure that all reviews are honest and real (all spam, duplicate and self reviews are filtered out).

Review of hostgator.com by anish on 2017/12/03 at 06:07
Never buy hostgator .. they are a piece of shit, making customers fool once somebody by there plan .. there support service is pathetic
Review of hostgator.com by sanjay chodhary on 2017/08/10 at 10:45
Hostgator.com is pretty great. I love the Cpanel hosting and uptime but

the customer support could be better. It is a decent cost to benefit ratio

bet if they gave a free domain to Cpanel hosting and people who want

to code the website themselves instead of using their creator. But

before two - three month the support services are very bad. So I switch

to LiveMNC.com. Now I am fully satisfied with LiveMNC.
http://livemnc.com/
Review of hostgator.com by Luis on 2016/03/16 at 22:23
Stay away from HOSTGATOR!
Their service is TERRIBLE!!

Review of hostgator.com by Susan on 2014/12/10 at 02:02
I have not once had any downtime with hostgator. Every question I have had were answered quickly. I have recommended my friends to them and they have all been happy with them.

When I switched to my main income source of business being online, I put my faith into hostgator. I have been quite pleased with them. When you think hosting providers it comes down to just a few key things:

Price: You can get the first month hatchling plan for a penny (coupon code: PENNYSAVER), then its only about $7 a mmonth after that. I have not found anything with a similar price value.

Reliability: I work from home, and it is super important to have 100% uptime. Hostgator does this for me.

Speed: So, Google now can rank sites based on their loading speed. I have gotten every one of my sites on the first page of google with the speed that hostgator has.

Tools: They give you a lot of tools in the dashboard. You won’t need half of them..buuut they are all nice to have just in case.

I highly recommend them.
Review of hostgator.com by JD on 2014/10/31 at 17:04
We have had our e-commerce sites with HostGator for a little under 2 years. During that time, we have frequently noticed very slow page load times, often in excess of 10-15 seconds. That is a serious business killer.

We have also experienced several server outages, that in the past had lasted only a few hours. The one we are in right now is in the THIRD DAY! That's right, our online sales sites have been broken for THREE DAYS. Our sites will load intermittently, or allow someone to access a page or two before hitting the "WARNING: An Error occurred, please refresh the page and try again." message. And, we can not access any of our back-end management tools.

During this time, there are lots of nice little (useless) updates like the one below. Meanwhile, they do not answer calls to any of their numbers, their "Live Chat" leaves us with a "Wait Time: 30 Minutes" screen, but in reality, no one ever comes online.

So, here we sit, losing sales for the third day in a row, meanwhile HostGator claims to be working on the problem, but does not have any way to actually contact them. Fortunately, our e-mail servers are still online so we can respond to the inquiries from OUR customers about why they can not place an order, update their account or check order status... And we lose sales/customers.

Needless to say, we will be moving all of our 20+ domains off of HostGator as soon as possible!

************** A sample of the updates we have been seeing for THREE DAYS on their System Status Forum *************
Day 1 ~ "We are currently experiencing issues with our reseller servers which has necessitated emergency maintenance. We are working to bring the service back online as soon as possible and will update this thread with status updates."

Day 1 ~ "At this time the issues have been identified to be a operating system update that has caused issues across our reseller servers. We are working as diligently as possible to resolve these issues across the board, and will continue to update this forum post as more information becomes available."

Day 2 ~ "We are still working diligently to fully restore all functionality for all users on the affected servers. Headway is being made with full functionality still being restored to a large number of the affected servers. We will continue to work unabated until full resolution has been achieved. We thank you for your patience during this time. Further updates will be forthcoming."

Day 2 ~ "As an update on the situation, while we don't have many details we can divulge at the moment, we are making significant headway on the restoration of services. Additionally while there are still a large number of affected servers, our un-compromising commitment to serve our clients is driving us to work as quickly as possible. As previously stated, we will continue to work unabated until a full resolution has been achieved."

Day 3 ~ "More time than we would like has elapsed since our last update, with our apologies. At this time a small number of innodb recoveries and fscks are still being performed. The vast majority of servers are now functioning normally. We remain in the homestretch and will announce a full restoration of all services as soon as possible."
Review of hostgator.com by Top Webhosts on 2014/07/11 at 11:30
I was using HostGator, but its not good. I switched to iPage, one of the top web hosts and I've been here for years
htttp://www.topwebhosts.biz .
Review of hostgator.com by sean on 2014/06/22 at 07:57
i always suggest hostgator Hosting because i am using their service from 5 years i never had any problem with them use this coupon >> purehostgator << and get discount for hostgator hosting
Review of hostgator.com by artan on 2014/05/28 at 10:58
I love hostingserver
Review of hostgator.com by Kira on 2014/03/26 at 17:45
HostGator is awful for anyone who isn't a webmaster or isn't familiar with web hosting. I'm a front-end web developer trying to launch a startup site and all I've gotten is attitude from HostGator's tech support. I've read here - http://blogerr.net/how-to-choose-the-best-web-hosting-service/ - that GeekStorage is pretty good so I'll give them a try. I'm switching around until I find a web hosting service that has a little more patience with people who don't know the backend inside and out!
Review of hostgator.com by kevin on 2014/02/24 at 17:11
These guys are awful. Emails go down frequently and tech support is bad, and I mean bad. Our site has been down for a few days and they just keep saying we can't find your hosting account...after I explained it five or six times. Finally one tech was able to help, but site and emails were down for three days...

Hostgator Review


Review by Lori Soard


HostGator is one of those well-known names in the web hosting industry. There
are a couple of reasons for this. First, they advertise widely, so their name
has likely popped up in your search results or when you've been browsing on
websites about web hosting. The company was founded in 2002, so has been around
for about 15 years now. This means it has had enough time to go through some
growing pains, work through those issues, and find its own hosting company
rhythm. Today, they have about 12,000 servers they manage and a 90% customer
satisfaction rating.



Brent Oxley started the company out of his dorm room in Florida. In 2006, the
company had grown to the point that they could no longer fit in their
2000-square feet of office space and they were having trouble finding enough
technologically inclined talent to staff their offices. They moved from Boca
Raton to Houston, Texas, taking up residence in a 25,000 square foot space. Out
of their fifty Florida employees, forty of them moved with the company to Texas.
Host Gator has settled in the Texas area and remained through today, although
they've moved cities.



From 2002 to 2008, the company grew to 100,000 customers. Then, in 2009, the
company saw massive growth and doubled that in less than a year. HostGator has
continued to expand into other countries, including China, Russia, and Mexico.
Their current office is in Austin and is now 100,000 square feet.


Hosting Plans and Pricing



It isn't hard to see why this company has had such massive growth when you look
at the wide range of plans they have to offer. Not only do they offer shared
hosting, but WordPress hosting, cloud hosting and virtual private servers. You
have the ability to become a reseller or to purchase your own dedicated server.
Another advantage to going with a company that offers a variety of plans is that
as your business grows.


Shared Hosting



If you're looking for shared hosting, HostGator offers three plans for all
business sizes. Basically, they don't limit how much you can use, but if you are
a big drain on the resources on that server (25% or more) then you may violate
their TOS and lose your ability to host with them. The normal running of a
business shouldn't create any issues, unless you have a streaming site or
something that is bandwidth heavy.



The Hatchling Plan


  • Allows you one domain and unmetered bandwidth and space.
  • You can get a rate as low as $3.95 per month, but you'll have to sign up for
    three years and pay for 36 months upfront to get that rate. If you choose to pay
    month to month, you'll pay $10.95/month. There are many other levels, depending
    upon how much you want to pay in advance, and each level will save you a little
    more on your monthly rate.
  • Includes full support.
  • Set up on cPanel with one-click installations.


Baby Plan



The baby plan is recommended by HostGator as their ideal shared hosting plan.
You'll gain a couple of things by going to the Baby plan and the costs are a
little different.


  • Instead of only being allowed a single domain, you can install multiple
    domains on this plan.
  • Unlimited space and bandwidth (again, within reason).
  • Unlimited parked domains.
  • Private SSL.
  • Dedicated IP for $4.00 more per month.
  • Rates start as low as $5.95/month paid upfront for 36 months of hosting and
    $11.95/month paid on a month-to-month basis.


Business Plan



The Business plan is the largest of the shared hosting options. You gain
everything with the Hatchling and Baby plans plus:


  • Free dedicated IP
  • Free private SSL
  • Anonymous FTP
  • Rates start at $5.95/month when paid 36 months in advance and $16.95/month
    when paid by the month.

Cloud Hosting



There are some real advantages to going with web hosting and it doesn't cost
much more to go this route, especially for the smaller sites that only need a
single domain and less memory. HostGator states that their cloud hosting is
twice as fast, has four times the resources, and offers a statistics dashboard
so you can see how your site is performing on multiple levels. The cloud plans
have similar name to the shared hosting plans, but the word "cloud" is added to
the end.



Hatchling Cloud



If you have a small business, or are just getting started, then this is the plan
for you. The Hatchling Cloud plan offers:


  • Single domain
  • 2 GB memory (this should be more than enough for a small business unless
    your site is extremely image or video heavy)
  • 2 Core CPU (speed of the processor)
  • Unmetered storage and bandwidth
  • Local caching
  • Starts at $4.95/month when you pay for 36 months in advance and goes up to
    $12.95/month when paying one month at a time.


Baby Cloud



HostGator's middle of the road cloud hosting plan is the Baby Cloud plan. It
includes everything that comes with the Hatchling Cloud plus:


  • CPUs - 4 Cores
  • 4 GB memory
  • Unlimited domains
  • Unlimited parked domains
  • Plans starting at $7.95/month when paid 36 months at a time and $13.95/month
    when paid on a month-to-month basis.


Business Cloud



In the cloud hosting platform, you gain a bunch of features when you take out
the top level of hosting. The Business Cloud plan offers everything that the
other two plans have and then some.


  • CPU - 6 Cores
  • 6 GB memory
  • Dedicated IP
  • Private SSL
  • Unlimited domains
  • Costs start at $9.95/month when paid in 36-month increments and $19.95/month
    when paid one month at a time.

WordPress Hosting



Some business owners simply want to focus on building up a following online and
they don't have the time to deal with worries about installing various types of
software and tracking backend features. If you want just what you need in order
to build a WordPress based website, look into WordPress hosting, which typically
includes WordPress specific support features as well.



HostGator offers a platform that is specifically created with WordPress users in
mind and claims that they are 2.5 times faster and have advanced security
features to help users avoid the many hackers that target the WordPress CMS.
They also offer free migrations so you can easily move your WP site onto their
servers without the hassle usually involved in making sure the database and
files are all moved correctly.



Starter Plan


  • 1 WP site
  • 100,000 visits per month
  • 1 GB backups
  • 2X relative compute power
  • Unlimited email accounts
  • Unmetered storage space
  • Plan starts at $5.95/month for 36 months at a time and $14.95/month when
    paid monthly.


Standard Plan


  • Up to 2 sites
  • 200,000 monthly visitors
  • 2X relative compute power
  • 2 GB backups
  • Rates start at $7.95 when paying for 36 months in advance and go to $20.95
    per month when paying a month at a time.


Business Plan


  • Up to 3 sites
  • 500,000 visits
  • 5X relative compute power (this is an increase)
  • 3 GB backups
  • Plan starts at $9.95/month when paid 36 months in advance and $27.95/month
    when paid month-to-month.

VPS



If you're looking for a more customized solution to your web hosting needs, but
you are not yet able to afford a dedicated server or justify the expense, then a
VPS may be the right choice for you. You'll gain full root access for custom
installations and control of your hosting platform. A VPS can also scale with
your business growth.



Snappy 2000


  • 2 GB RAM
  • 2 Cores CPU
  • 120 GB disk space
  • 1.5 TB bandwidth
  • Plan starts at $29.95/month when paying 36 months in advance and
    $89.95/month for a month at a time.


Snappy 4000


  • 4 GB RAM
  • 2 Cores CPU
  • 165 GB disk space
  • 2 TB bandwidth
  • Plan starts at $39.95/month when paying for 36 months and $129.95/month when
    paid monthly.


Snappy 8000


  • 8 GB RAM
  • 4 Cores CPU
  • 240 GB disk space
  • 3TB bandwidth
  • Plan starts at $49.95/month for 36 months in advance and goes to
    $159.95/month for month-to-month plans.

Dedicated



If your business has grown to the point that you need more speed and
reliability, then you'll likely want to get on your own dedicated server. You
will be the only customer on this server, meaning no one else can drain the
resources. HostGator offers HHD and SSD hard drives. Servers are hosted in a
US-based data center. Of course, you also gain full root access and a fully
redundant network. They offer managed or semi-managed solutions, depending upon
your level of knowledge and need. All have unmetered bandwidth.



Value Server


  • 4 Core/8 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 1 TB HDD
  • Linux or Windows for operating system (OS)
  • Plan for managed server starts at $118.99/month for 36 months and
    $189.00/month when paying monthly. However, rates can change based on whether
    you choose managed or semi-managed and other options.


Power Server


  • 8 Core/8 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
  • 16 GB RAM
  • 2 TB HDD or 512 GB SSD (your choice)
  • Linux or Windows OS
  • Plan for managed starts $138.99 month for 36 months in advance and $249.00
    month-to-month.


Enterprise Server


  • 8 Core/16 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
  • 30 GB RAM
  • 1 TB SDD
  • Linux or Windows OS
  • $149.01 month for 36 months in advance and $289.00 month-to-month.

Reseller



Reseller plans are a bit different in that they give you the ability to become
your own hosting company (sort of). Reseller plans come with WHM panels and
billing software, control of resource allocation, and a 99.9% uptime guarantee.
You will also receive private name servers according to your domain name.



Aluminum


  • 60 GB disk space to use between all your clients
  • 600 GB bandwidth
  • Unlimited domains
  • $19.95/month when you pay for 36 months in advance and $29.95/month when
    paid monthly.


Copper


  • 90 GB disk
  • 900 GB bandwidth
  • Unlimited domains
  • $24.95/month when you pay for 36 months in advance and $41.95/month when
    paid monthly.


Silver


  • 140 GB disk space
  • 1400 GB bandwidth
  • Unlimited domains
  • $24.95/month when you pay for 36 months in advance and $59.95/month when
    paid monthly.


Overall, HostGator offers nearly any type of hosting plan you'd need along with
strong support for each type. Whether you are a startup that needs a basic
shared plan, or you are a growing mid-sized business ready for a dedicated
server, you can find what you need. As your company grows, you won't have to
change hosting companies to gain the services you need, which can save you time
and money migrating to a new server.



5 out of 5 Stars


Control Panel



HostGator uses cPanel with all of its hosting plans and keeps it updated with
the latest version. cPanel is a very intuitive control panel to use with
one-click installations of popular software, access to phpMyAdmin and the
ability to add emails to your domains. In addition, you can access backend type
features, such as restoring your website from a backup or checking website
stats.


Features


Feature
Included
One-click Installer

Custom Error Pages

Web Based File Manager

IP Deny Manager

Redirects

Hotlink Protection

Unlimited MySQL Databases

phpMyAdmin

PHP5, PHP7, Ruby on Rails, SSL, Perl, Python, CGI

SSH Access and Cron Job Scheduling

FrontPage extension




5 out of 5 Stars


Support



On the surface HostGator seems to stack up when it comes to customer support.
They offer multiple ways to contact them 24/7/365. They claim to backup your
site each week off-site. They list 24/7/365 server monitoring. I really wanted
to give them five stars here, because they are doing a lot of things right. Here
is what I like about their support:


  • Can phone, email, start a support ticket, use forums, use knowledge
    database, or use live chat feature. The ability to get help 24 hours a day is
    enticing.
  • I like the idea of them monitoring the servers, because they'd likely catch
    any DDoS attacks for example.


However, they lost a star from me when I tested out their system anonymously,
because even though the support was there and they did answer my questions they
just didn't go above and beyond. Perhaps with hundreds of thousands of customers
they simply can't give me that undivided attention I'd like, but I found the
interactions very impersonal and even felt a little stupid with some of the
questions I asked. However, I asked very specific questions that I felt a newbie
website owner would ask to see what the response was. In one instance, I was
pointed to a video tutorial on webmail. What I would really want as a newbie
would be to have someone walk me through the steps.



In addition, when digging deeper and looking at reviews on their customer
service, I found a number of one and two stars reviews across the Internet. One
site compiled a list of complaints they'd gotten from their own readers.
Customers stated things such as:


  • The rate going up so much after the introductory period and HostGator not
    making that clear enough to them.
  • Customers stating that their service was throttled as soon as the 30-day
    money back guarantee (now 45 days) period was over.
  • Customers complaining about a lack of knowledge from support at
    times.


Now, to be fair, some of the complaints were with issues such as not enough
things being in other languages. While HostGator is a global company, they are
headquartered in the United States, so I'm not surprised this is a slight issue.
Hopefully they will continue to improve in this area, so I didn't mark them down
for this.



I'll share more of my experience with the CS below when I give my verdict of
this hosting company.



4 out of 5 Stars


Refund Policy



Their money-back guarantee is for 45 days, which should allow people to see how
well the hosting works for them and get a good idea of average speeds. Granted,
I only tested them for two weeks, but my uptime stats were strong and I never
noticed an issue with throttling. Of course, my test site was very basic. I
uploaded a test site that I use for this and is about the size of a small
business site with some images, mostly text, and a few additional features
installed, such as a shopping cart.



I didn't actually try to attain a refund, so I'm not certain how easy that
process would be, but since they state it on nearly every page, I would think
they would comply if a customer was really dissatisfied.



5 out of 5 stars


The Verdict



HostGator is a good choice for companies looking for an all-around solution for
hosting.



4 out of 5 stars



There are a couple of reasons I withheld that star. First, I hosted with them a
number of years ago, and the customer service at the time was atrocious. I wound
up taking my toys and leaving for another hosting company. However, they seem to
have cleared up the issues of reps not being polite and they were very fast to
respond as well. I am going to chalk the previous experience up to growing pains
and perhaps poorly trained customer service reps.



The other reason I withheld a star was the confusion with the rates after
introductory period. I really want you to be aware of that, so you can buy a lot
of package up front and save as much as possible in the long run. That is what
makes this hosting a great deal. First, you'll save money, and second the
renewal rates go up to about double after your introductory period. So, if you
sign up for 36 months, your monthly rate won't go up for 36 months. However, if
you sign up for 12 months, your rate will go up after the 12 months are up.



Things I really liked about my HostGator experience were how easy it was to set
up my test site and that it is very familiar as it runs on the same cPanel that
many other hosting companies utilize. Another advantage to going with a company
that offers a variety of plans is that as your business grows you can simply
move to a new plan without having to completely move your website.



HostGator also lists that they still offer the FrontPage extension. When
Microsoft stopped updating and supporting this HTML editor a number of years
ago, many servers stopped offering the ability to use FrontPage with an
extension. This is actually a difficult feature to find a real bonus to anyone
who still utilizes the software to build basic websites.



Overall, HostGator is a good choice for the beginning website owner. The ability
to start with a WordPress package is also very helpful to beginners. I'd
recommend this hosting company.

HostGator General Information

HostGator was founded in 2002 and is now 16 years in business.

Website title

Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, and Dedicated Servers - Website Hosting w/ cPanel - HostGator

Website description

Hostgator offers web hosting, reseller hosting, and dedicated servers. Over 1,800,000 websites trust Hostgator for their web hosting needs.

Company name typos

gatorhosting, hostedgator

Contact Information

Houston, Texas ( Headquarters )


11251 Northwest Freeway, Suite 400


Houston, TX 77092


United States of America





Sales: sales@hostgator.com


Billing: billing@hostgator.com


Support: support@hostgator.com


Affiliates: affiliates@hostgator.com


Reboots: reboots@hostgator.com

Hostgator Staff Answers Our Questions!

  • What moneyback guarantees do you offer?
    We offer a 45 day money back guarantee. You can cancel at any time during the first 45 days and receive a full refund. Just fill out the form at hostgator.com/cancel.php explaining why you wish to cancel, request a refund, and one of our cancellation team members will get everything taken care of for you.
  • What is your average uptime?
    We have a 99.9% uptime guarantee. If you feel as if your site has been down or unreachable for more then an hour in a given month, give email support@hostgator.com stating your site has been down during a given time frame, our admins will investigate, and if a months credit is due because of downtime, our sales administrators will post a credit to your account.
  • What is your support response time and what does it cover?
    We offer support any cPanel issues, and general servers issues. We will not help you design your site, or write scripts. We have 24/7 live chat and phone support which will give you immediate assistance, or if needed, you can email sales@hostgator.com for billing questions, or support@hostgator.com for advanced technical support. We work on tickets in the order they were received. If there is a high volume of tickets, your response time will be a little longer.
  • Do you have any coupons or discounts?
    As of right now, we offer 20% off your first payment if you use the coupon code BEACH. This coupon only applies to your first payment, so the longer you pay in advance, the more you save.
  • What else can you tell about your company and services?
    Host Gator strides to be the best web hosting company out there, and feel as if we provide the highest quality support the industry has to offer. There are plenty of employees who work for us that use to work for other hosting companies, such as Dream Host. With people defecting from other hosting companies to come work for us, we must offer something that no one else can!.

Write your review about HostGator

Please share & Like this page! This will motivate us to develop more & better free features!

Hosted websites for 16,785,501 users all over the world!

  • php
  • my sql
  • intel
  • cloudlinux
  • nginx
  • cloudflare
  • wordpress