How to enable compression on 000webhost.com?

I’m having issues with my site, and I was wondering if you guys could help me out. I want to enable compression on my site, but I don’t know what to do. I am not a advanced user of coding or website design. I’m just a student but I would like to add things like this to my arsenal of trick to better others sites as well. Please explain the procedure in detail? Step by step, and where to place the needed file for the issue to be a win. Thanks.

https://varvy.com/pagespeed/enable-compression.html

Adding the code in the first section to your .htaccess should help a bit, but because there is a 1000mb storage limit this may not help much. We don’t have an option to compress the site otherwise, but if you need more storage space I suggest upgrading to premium.

That is the thing where is the .htaccess file? I don’t see it no were on the filemanager. Can I make it and add it in there, and then where? I mean in my Hosting I only have the folders “home”, and “public_html” and a “ftpquota” file in it.

I have made a .htaccess file, and placed it in the main part of the Hosting server. Where I can see the mentioned folders. Just that it’s not compressing the site.

You need to make the .htaccess file in public_html and then paste the following code inside it.

<ifModule mod_gzip.c>
mod_gzip_on Yes
mod_gzip_dechunk Yes
mod_gzip_item_include file .(html?|txt|css|js|php|pl)$
mod_gzip_item_include handler ^cgi-script$
mod_gzip_item_include mime ^text/.*
mod_gzip_item_include mime ^application/x-javascript.*
mod_gzip_item_exclude mime ^image/.*
mod_gzip_item_exclude rspheader ^Content-Encoding:.*gzip.*
</ifModule>

Let me stress that this may not make any difference at all.

1 Like